1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting Started?

Discussion in 'Photography' started by audr3y, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Offline

audr3y Member

Total Posts:
    I really like photography and I'm thinking about getting into it. I have an SLR but I don't even know how to put film in it. I'm thinking about getting a D-SLR this summer, but people say that it's better to start with an SLR? I'm already handy with a regular digital camera and I can take decent pictures with one but now that I'm trying to get better compositions, I know I need to move up with my camera.

What do more experienced people think? Is it really necessary to start with an SLR?
  2. Offline

kismet "hack it 'til it works"

• Emerging Artist
    • 'D Contributor
    Total Posts:
    • Awards
    From what I know (and I'm not an expert in any way) the basic difference is the money you're willing to pay. SLR needs constant funds because you need to always replace film, process, create photos whereas DSLR allows you to shoot-and-boot, basically. There are a few people who say that SLR has a more 'refined' feel to it, especially because of the film qualities and the way the image is printed upon it, but the differences are often minor. That, and the fact that you're still a newbie and you need something professional (which the DSLR is) but that's more practical as well.

I dunno, in this day and age, I see the SLR as either a transcendental tool for people who have used film-cameras all their life and need a good camera to have or a professional's occasional-use camera for those effects that 'only a film could have' or a person who thinks it's more 'chic' to own one.

I'd say go with digital 'cause that's where the world's heading, I guess! XD And you already have an SLR so once you're comfy with the DSLR you can always compare and contrast. Best of both worlds and all...
  3. Offline

sweetxmiasma Khaleesi

Total Posts: